fbpx
Home/Book/Graphic novel: Guide jaune pour conduire un taxi à New York

Graphic novel: Guide jaune pour conduire un taxi à New York

29,95 $

Buy
Category

Book

Author

Lucio Schiavon

Nb of pages

128 pages

Cover

Cardboard

Binding

Exposed stitched binding

Size

20,5 x 28 cm

ISBN

978-2-89779-251-0

This book is only in French

By Lucio Schiavon

Guide jaune pour conduire un taxi a New York is a three-part graphic novel: a series of colourful portraits of New Yorkers, a black-and-white illustrated poem, and a tribute to Japanese-American sculptor Isamu Noguchi.

  • first work published in Quebec by the renowned Venetian illustrator
  • magnificent product printed and bound as if it came from the artist’s own studio
  • three interwoven stories full of poetry and humanity
  • an ode to the power of imagination in the age of mass tourism
  • drawn entirely by hand

This is a book imbued with poetry, irony, graphic freedom. The three parts are linked by the great sensitivity of Lucio Schiavon’s gaze, which manages to convey the essence of a city, without ever having set foot in New York. It is therefore an imaginary and at the same time very real journey that reminds us that, in an age when every place is reachable and all information is available in an instant, imagination does not lose its power. Gorgeous large-format book with exposed binding; printed on ivory textured paper that showcases the illustrations, all drawn completely by hand. A feast for the eyes of illustration enthusiasts!

  1. In the first part, each character offers us a very personal vision of the city. The cinematographic and literary references are abundant and humorous. Each drawing is interspersed with objects and details that play an essential role in the portrait of the city. Iconic, like the characters, these are chosen with great finesse.
  2. The black and white pages take us to the hidden spaces of New York, on its rooftops, around water cisterns, to meet mysterious characters who live in the cracks of the city.
  3. The third section of the book is an intimate journey into the artistic life and thought of Isamu Noguchi, whose works have become an integral part of the New York cityscape. His studio and the raw materials that inhabit it come to life thanks to quotes that bring us to the very heart of the creative process.

About Lucio Schiavon

Lucio Schiavon is an illustrator and graphic designer born in Venice. He has collaborated with Fabrica (Benetton creativity incubator), La Biennale di Venezia, Armando Testa Agency. He has illustrated books for the publisher Nuages in Milan and exhibited at the Fondazione Bevilacqua La Masa in Venice. With two different animated short films, he won International Motion Art Award in New York and Berlin Interfilm Festival Short Movie in 2015. In 2019 opened his first personal exhibition “Città Immaginarie” at the prestigious Nuages Gallery in Milan.

This product is available online from the following retailers (click on the logo to be redirected to the product’s page on their website):
This agenda is available in store at these retailers:
  • Archambault
  • Renaud-Bray
  • Bookstore and stationery store in Quebec*
*Each bookstore, stationery or Co-op makes its own selection of W. Maxwell agendas.

You may also like…

Go to Top

Accueil/Livre/Roman graphique : Guide jaune pour conduire un taxi à New York

Roman graphique : Guide jaune pour conduire un taxi à New York

29,95 $

Acheter
Catégorie

Livre

Auteur

Lucio Schiavon

Nb de pages

128 pages

Couverture

Cartonnée

Reliure

Cousue exposée

Taille

20,5 x 28 cm

ISBN

978-2-89779-251-0

Par Lucio Schiavon

Roman graphique en trois parties : une série de portraits de New-Yorkais hauts en couleur, une poésie illustrée en noir et blanc et un hommage au sculpteur américano-japonais Isamu Noguchi.

  • première oeuvre publiée au Québec du renommé illustrateur vénitien
  • magnifique produit imprimé et relié comme s’il sortait de l’atelier même de l’artiste
  • trois histoires entrelacées pleines de poésie et d’humanité
  • une ode à la force de l’imagination à l’époque du tourisme de masse
  • dessiné entièrement à la main

Il s’agit d’un livre empreint de poésie, d’ironie, de liberté graphique. Les trois parties sont liées par la grande sensibilité du regard de Lucio Schiavon qui arrive à transmettre l’essence d’une ville, sans jamais avoir mis les pieds à New York. C’est donc un voyage imaginaire et en même temps très réel qui nous rappelle qu’à l’époque où chaque lieu est atteignable et toute information est disponible en un instant, l’imagination ne perd pas son pouvoir. Magnifique livre de grande taille avec reliure exposée; imprimé sur un papier texturé couleur ivoire qui permet de mettre en valeur les illustrations, toutes réalisées sans l’aide d’ordinateur. Un régal pour les yeux des passionnés d’illustrations!

  1. Dans la première partie, chaque personnage nous offre une vision très personnelle de la ville. Les références cinématographiques et littéraires sont nombreuses et amusantes. Chaque dessin est parsemé d’objets et détails qui jouent un rôle essentiel dans le portrait de la ville. Iconiques, tout comme les personnages, ils sont choisis avec grande finesse.
  2. Les pages en noir et blanc nous amènent dans les espaces cachés de New York, sur ses toits, autour des citernes d’eau, à la rencontre de mystérieux personnages qui vivent dans les fissures de la ville.
  3. La troisième section du livre est un voyage intime dans la vie et la pensée artistiques de Isamu Noguchi, dont les oeuvres sont devenues partie intégrante du paysage urbain new-yorkais. L’atelier et les matériaux bruts prennent vie grâce aux citations qui nous amènent au coeur même du processus de création.

À propos de Lucio Schiavon

Lucio Schiavon est un illustrateur et designer graphique né à Venise, en Italie. Il a collaboré avec Fabrica (incubateur de créativité benetton), la biennale de Venise, l’agence Armando Testa. Il a illustré des livres pour le compte de la maison d’édition Nuages de Milan et a exposé ses oeuvres à la fondation Bevilacqua la Masa. Deux de ses courts métrages d’animation ont été primés au International Motion Art de New York ainsi qu’au Festival du court métrage interfilm de Berlin (2015).

Ce produit est disponible en ligne chez les détaillants suivants (cliquez sur le logo pour obtenir la page du produit) :
Ce produit est disponible en magasin chez les détaillants suivants :
  • Archambault
  • Renaud-Bray
  • Librairies et papeteries du Québec*
*Chaque librairie, papeterie ou COOP fait sa propre sélection d’agendas.

Vous aimerez peut-être...